Creative Strategies

Just started studying MA Ceramics and we have been asked to think about our creative strategies. I begun by looking through my most recent sketchbooks and figuring out the re-occurring themes. This resulted with the words, composition, femininity, groupings, objects/tools and rituals. Another thing I noticed was the use of pastel and washed out tones crated by watered down inks. My drawings are not direct copy’s from my subject. They are an impression and a re-imaging of objects and I think the same can be said for my ceramics work. I am now looking at creating some new drawings and immediately getting into making.
Although looking into the key words of my practice was useful and I now know why I am attracted to certain ‘things’ or artworks I feel I am at my most creative when making. But with this I need a new place to start. In order to make something new I am starting with a new beginning. I feel I am at risk of re-creating the same things as I know I am always drawn into making the same way, with thin slabs constructing objects. I originally planned to start with using my make up bag as my object to feed from but even from the start I am struggling to draw something new from it.
This led me to look at Monet’s Water Lillies. Although I have always thought this painting was great I had never seen it in the flesh until May this year. When I saw it in the flesh I was blown away by the massive scale of the piece. It commanded the room. Also the tones and colours are amazing. With the tones Monet has created the rule of three, which is method of creating a pleasing composition. I also wanted to mention the obvious point of the painting being an impression. We know what it is but representing it through another material, in this case paint, has given us a different experience.

20121014-103442.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment